Kratae “Stay Cool” Response

It’s not the first time I’ve seen a Kratae Rsiam music video. But it seems to me that the choreography has gotten more cooler in my opinion.

But dang this video seems to be in the very long chain of Thai pop videos with unrequited love. However, this is quite different from the ones I’ve seen. Where a person has a crush on someone but they never get to be in a relationship with that person because it turns out the person they’re crushing on has a boyfriend/girlfriend.

I feel like I’ve learned a few cultural things about Thailand from this song and the concept.

From a Western point of view, it’s kinda empowering.
With the whole don’t spend your time being depressed and stuffs work on yourself!

However, I’m sure that those with a Western point of view will disagree with lines of the song such as ” ‘Cause you’re getting dumped you need to get prettier.”

I’m sure it can rub people the wrong way and be taken as. The only time you need to pretty yourself up is after you get dumped!

I like to think of this song as “show him what he’s missing” kind of song. Along with “don’t let this break up get you really down to the point where you’re just hanging onto him for a long time.” The sense of vengance to this is something I love seeing in stories, films and music videos. The man just dumped her for a prettier girl she becomes prettier and the man comes back now interested in being with her but she rejects him.

Makes me more interested in Thai culture along with wishing that more people listened to Thai pop…along with knowing that Thailand does indeed exist. Since I feel it’s one of the many countries that gets clumped/overlooked by China, Japan, Taiwan and now thanks to the Hallyu wave, S.Korea.

Leave a Reply

