Ringo Sheena (椎名林檎) Marathon

I seem to be going on a marathron over here I keep listening to Ringo Sheena songs.

This is one of her English songs~  She also produced and written this very song for another singer, Chiaki Kuriyama. Ringo Sheena and Chiaki Kuriyama have worked before. This song is used in the drama “Himitsu Chouhouin Erika” where Kuriyama acts as the main character, Erika. Anyways~ I really like how there’s a whole Bossa Nova thing going on in this song.

I think she may end up being a singer that ends up on my favorites list because I am really loving the music I’ve heard of her so far.

Other songs I’ve heard by her:

I have no idea what genre of music this song will fit into. Iroha ni hoheto is an interesting songs. It has elements to it that I really like. Sheena’s voice is quite high pitched in this and contrasting to this is her sexiness. I really like it when sexy and high pitches (cute) comes together. This song also gives hope for me to sing songs in my high pitched voice but still have an element of sexiness to my performance.

I love the tone of her voice in this. Plus there’s Aya and Bambi in here. There’s also this element of sexy to it that I notice is a pattern in her performances. But on top of that a lot of her performances make me think of a jazz singer in an nightclub within the olden days. You know the kind you mostly see in movies these days, like Jessica Rabbit from Who Framed Roger Rabbit.

Leave a Reply

