When New Music Meets Old Music

I absolutely love music like this!

And I was very very happy to find this channel:

Postmodern Jukebox

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCORIeT1hk6tYBuntEXsguLg

Which is filled with covers of new songs (And songs from the 90s and back) that are done in various older styles. Older styles among the lines of swing, blues, jazz, etc.

Like this cover:

I couldn’t help but subscribe to this channel! Thus adding another subscription to my long list of subscriptions on YouTube. D: Oh my it’s going to be a pain during those moments where seemingly everyone uploads everything on the same day.

Other examples of what this are:

Golden Bomber “My Generation”

With the whole 1980s thing and yet still remaining true to their style. I mean just look at their drummer who I’ve only seen without make-up once and that’s cause a friend of mine somehow managed to find a picture of him without make-up! I would like to note that this Japanese band Golden Bomber is a Visual kei AIR band.

EXO-M “Mama”

The gregorian chants at the beginning though. And yes, EXO-M. Instead of just EXO. I’m just a fan of Exo-M. Gregorian chants was one of the earliest forms of music. There was no background music/harmony though just one single line, the melody line. And this music video was choreographed by Lyle Benign

Wonder Girls “I feel You”

After years of Wonder Girls being away they come back with this 1980s concept. They trained hard to play instruments while dancing. And now there’s BAND versions of their old songs. Which…does prove to be a bit of an issue when they appeared on Random Dance Play not only that but I imagine the many member changes this group went through also proved to be a bit of an issue. Hyuna who was with them in Irony is now in 4minute. I’m just going to point out that one member change and I’ll let this chart do the rest of the work:

Kat Graham “1991”

I feel this song stays true to it’s title. (Though I wasn’t born yet in 1991) One of her hairstyles in this reminds me of a certain TLC member….

Leave a Reply

